Is Minimum Wage the Problem?

So, the other day I was watching a video about the raise on minimum wage. According to the data supplied, the statistics show that very few people actually make minimum wage and that majority of those that due are living with someone who makes way over. Now, I am not a liberal, but living in one of the lowest income counties in the country, I find it hard to believe.

I live in an area, where I see poverty all around me. I know good honest hard working people who are just trying to catch a break. Although, to be honest, I am not sure minimum wage is the only problem. It also has to do with rising costs, and hours being cut.  But how does one escape this loop?

Many work more than one job to make ends meet. This results in being over tired an
d over worked. Others try to break into self-employment so that they have more control over their hours worked and money made. This however, takes determination, drive, and can also result in exhausting one’s self.

However, I personally feel becoming self-employed is the behard-work-quote-4
st option. Yes, it is hard work, but I feel the rewards can be greater. If you fail, you only have yourself to blame. You can’t blame a boss, society, the government, etc. By having
that kind of power I feel it makes it easier to pick yourself up and go again.

Well, this blog took a turn from where I was originally going with it. (Blame the ADD.) Still, I feel it went where it needed to. What are your thoughts?

 

Leave a comment